Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS)

Starting school can be filled with worry and questions for many parents, especially when the child in question has complex or severe learning difficulties. We work towards creating a partnership between home and school where each child’s individual needs are catered for ensuring we provide the best start in education for your child.

The Springfield Nursery and Reception Classes provide experiences that support children to:

  • respond to learning situations
  • increase attention span
  • develop a growing awareness of self, of others, and of the environment
  • interact with others
  • develop play and learn through play
  • communicate in any way
  • increase sensory awareness and co-ordination
  • respond to rewards and sanctions
  • remove barriers to learning
  • interact with the environment

There are seven areas of learning and development that must shape educational programmes in early years’ settings. All areas of learning and development are important and inter-connected. The seven areas are:

  • Communication and Language
  • Personal, Social and Emotional development
  • Physical Development
  • Mathematics
  • Literacy
  • Understanding the World
  • Expressive Arts and Design