Wendy Goddard

I qualified as a teacher in 1972 and started teaching in the East End of London, before moving to Birmingham, where I worked in a variety of teaching related, but part time, jobs while the children were young.  One of these jobs was teaching basic literacy, once a week, at a Day Centre for adults with psychiatric problems.

Since moving to West Oxfordshire in 1983, I've mostly taught in Primary Schools, including eight years at Ducklington as a class teacher and thirteen years at Great Rollright, as Headteacher. At both schools inclusion was actively encouraged; at Ducklington I had a girl with Down's Syndrome in my class for two years and involved her in as much of the curriculum as possible, including taking her on residential visits with the rest of the class.  I also had a boy with quite severe behavioural difficulties, who attended the Behavioural Unit at Bampton once a week.  At Great Rollright we acquired a reputation for working with children who found school difficult to cope with for various reasons; at one time we had 25% of the school roll on the Special Needs Register, including several children with Statements.

I left Great Rollright in 2006 and joined the staff of Abingdon and Witney College; I worked there for four years, mainly teaching 16 - 19 year olds on Level 3 Child Care & Education courses, but I also taught two modules, including the Inclusion module, on the Early Years Foundation Degree course. 

I took voluntary redundancy from the college in July 2010 and did part time Foundation Degree work there and some supply teaching in various Primary schools until June of this year, when I stopped work completely.

I was married for 38 years, but lost my husband, Richard, to pancreatic cancer in August of this year.  Richard had taught Maths and ICT at Abingdon and Witney College for 28 years.  I have three sons, the middle one, Christopher, is the father of Kit, in year nine.  My eldest son, also Richard, works for BP and lives in Houston with his wife and baby daughter.  My youngest son, David, is a Naval Barrister.  My 98 year old mother lives with Christopher and me in North Leigh.

I enjoy reading, walking, swimming, travelling and spending time with friends.  I am a member of the W.I.

/public/images/Wendy photo.jpg

Springfield School